Evolver logo

Ask Us Chat: 24/7 Online Reference

Search

Search:

 


You'll Like These AP Readalikes

September 17, 2019 - 10:30am -- Caitlyn
Print
Brave New World cover
Slaughterhouse Five cover
The Odyssey cover
Their Eyes Were Watching God cover
1984 cover
Atonement cover
Lord of the Flies cover
Beloved cover
Jane Eyre cover
Invisible Man cover

The school year is in full swing, which means that you, dear reader, most likely have some reading assignments looming on the horizon. Whether you’re in AP classes or not, English teachers LOVE to assign books that are likely to crop up on the AP literature test. But that list is huge, and figuring out which books you might actually enjoy reading can be daunting. Fear not! Here is a list of amazing AP books that read a lot like some much more recent popular young adult titles.

If you liked Ready Player One, you should try:

Brave New World by Aldous Huxley

Both books are set in dystopian futures in which the masses are addicted to distractions. In Ready Player One, it’s the immersive video game world of OASIS. In Brave New World, it’s mind-numbing Soma.

If you liked A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle, you should try:

Slaughterhouse Five by Kurt Vonnegut

Both feature improbable travel through space and time, battles of good v. evil, and big questions about humanity and morality.

If you liked the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series by Rick Riordan, you should try:

The Odyssey by Homer

Get a whole new appreciation for and Greek mythology by reading this epic adventure.

If you liked The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo, you should try:

Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston

Both of these beautiful, lyrical novels are about women who defy convention and expectation to live and love on their own terms. 

If you liked Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard, you should try:

1984 by George Orwell

Both feature main characters who have to pretend to be something they’re not to survive a world plagued by war in which the haves ruthlessly rule the have-nots.

If you liked Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein, you should try:

Atonement by Ian McEwan

If you enjoy unreliable narrators and life or death stakes during WWII, this is the book for you.

If you liked The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, or The Maze Runner by James Dashner, you should try:

Lord of the Flies by William Gibson

A group of schoolboys on a trip get marooned on an island. There, they fight to survive and struggle to maintain their humanity.

If you liked Dread Nation by Justina Ireland, you should try:

Beloved by Toni Morrison

Both books feature strong black women living in the antebellum south, and have a strong supernatural element. 

If you liked House of Furies by Madeleine Roux, you should try:

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

A young girl from an impoverished background finds work in a sprawling building that’s full of SECRETS. 

If you liked The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas, you should try:

Invisible Man by Ralph Elliott

Both of these stories are powerful reflections on racism in America, and deal with a young black protagonist struggling to maintain their identity in the face of tragedy and oppression.