Evolver logo

Ask Us Chat: 24/7 Online Reference

Search

Search:

 


Around the World in 17 Books

Print

We may be stuck at home for now, but sate your wanderlust with these amazing titles! (17th book coming soon!)

Mad, Bad & Dangerous To Know
Ahmed, Samira
In Paris, seventeen-year-old Khayyam, a part-Indian, part-French Muslim American, is at a crossroads when a chance encounter plunges her into research about Leila, a girl much like Khayyam who inspired Eugène Delacroix.
Love From A To Z
Ali, S. K., author.
Eighteen-year-old Muslims Adam and Zayneb meet in Doha, Qatar, during spring break and fall in love as both struggle to find a way to live their own truths.
City Of Saints & Thieves
Anderson, Natalie C., author.
Sixteen-year-old Tina and two friends leave Kenya and slip into the Congo, from where she and her mother fled years before, seeking revenge for her mother's murder but uncovering startling secrets.
Romanov
Brandes, Nadine, 1986- author.
Anastasia "Nastya" Romanov must choose between using the ancient spell her father, the exiled tsar, trusted her to keep safe, or trust Zash, a handsome Bolshevik soldier.
Wicked Fox
Cho, Kat, author.
Gu Miyoung is a gumiho, a nine-tailed fox who must devour the energy of men in order to survive. The modern city of Seoul is the perfect place to hide and hunt. After feeding one full moon, Miyoung crosses paths with Jihoon, a human boy, being attacked by a goblin deep in the forest. She violates the rules of survival to rescue the boy, losing her fox bead-- her gumiho soul-- in the process. Jihoon saw her nine tails, but he's drawn to her anyway. Their a tenuous friendship blossoms into something more... until a young shaman tries to reunite Miyoung with her bead. Now Miyoung must choose between her immortal life-- and Jihoon's. -- adapted from jacket
The Gilded Wolves
Chokshi, Roshani, author.
Set in a darkly glamorous world The Gilded Wolves is full of mystery, decadence and dangerous but thrilling adventure. Paris, 1889: The world is on the cusp of industry and power, and the Exposition Universelle has breathed new life into the streets and dredged up ancient secrets. In this city, no one keeps tabs on secrets better than treasure-hunter and wealthy hotelier, Séverin Montagnet-Alarie. But when the all-powerful society, the Order of Babel, seeks him out for help, Séverin is offered a treasure that he never imagined: his true inheritance. To find the ancient artifact the Order seeks, Séverin will need help from a band of experts: An engineer with a debt to pay. A historian who can't yet go home. A dancer with a sinister past. And a brother in all but blood, who might care too much. Together, they'll have to use their wits and knowledge to hunt the artifact through the dark and glittering heart of Paris. What they find might change the world, but only if they can stay alive.
Beneath Wandering Stars
Cowles, Ashlee, author.
"After her soldier brother is horribly wounded in Afghanistan, Gabriela must honor the vow she made: If anything ever happened to him, she would walk the Camino de Santiago through Spain, making a pilgrimage in his name. The worst part is that the promise stipulates that she must travel with her brother's best friend--a boy she has despised all her life"-- Provided by publisher.
I Wanna Be Where You Are
Forest, Kristina, author.
When Chloe Pierce's mom forbids her to apply for a spot at the dance conservatory of her dreams, she devises a secret plan to drive two hundred miles to the nearest audition. But Chloe hits her first speed bump when her annoying neighbor Eli insists upon hitching a ride, threatening to tell Chloe's mom if she leaves him and his smelly dog, Geezer, behind. So now Chloe's chasing her ballet dreams down the east coast--two unwanted (but kinda cute) passengers in her car, butterflies in her stomach, and a really dope playlist on repeat. Filled with roadside hijinks, heart-stirring romance, and a few broken rules, I WANNA BE WHERE YOU ARE is a YA debut perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Sandhya Menon.--Provided by publisher.
Shadow Of The Fox
Kagawa, Julie, author.
"Raised by monks in the isolated Silent Winds temple, Yumeko has trained all her life to hide her yokai nature. Half kitsune, half human, her skill with illusion is matched only by her penchant for mischief. Until the day her home is burned to the ground, her adoptive family is brutally slain and she is forced to flee for her life with the temple's greatest treasure--one part of the ancient scroll. There are many who would claim the dragon's wish for their own. With an army of demons at her heels and the unlikeliest of allies at her side, Yumeko's secrets are more than a matter of life or death. They are the key to the fate of the world itself"-- Provided by publisher.
The Love & Lies Of Rukhsana Ali
Khan, Sabina, 1968- author.
Seventeen-year-old Rukhsana Ali is looking forward to going to Caltech and getting away from her conservative Muslim parents' expectation that she will marry, especially since she is in love with her girlfriend Ariana--but when her parents catch her kissing Ariana, they whisk Rukhsana off to Bangladesh and a world of tradition and arranged marriages, and she must find the courage to fight for the right to choose her own path.
Darius The Great Is Not Okay
Khorram, Adib, author.
Clinically-depressed Darius Kellner, a high school sophomore, travels to Iran to meet his grandparents, but it is their next-door neighbor, Sohrab, who changes his life.
The Gentleman's Guide To Vice And Virtue
Lee, Mackenzi, author.
A young bisexual British lord embarks on an unforgettable Grand Tour of Europe with his best friend/secret crush. An eighteenth century romantic adventure for the modern age.
Dear Haiti, Love Alaine
Moulite, Maika, author.
After an incident at school, seventeen year-old Alaine is spending spring break in a "volunteer immersion project", toiling away under the ever-watchful eyes of Tati Estelle and her eagle-eyed mother at a new nonprofit in Haiti. Although it is meant as punishment, Alaine is still able to flirt with Tati's distractingly cute intern, get some actual face time with her mom and experience her family's history in Haiti for the first time.
Buried Beneath The Baobab Tree
Nwaubani, Adaobi, author.
"Based on interviews with young women who were kidnapped by Boko Haram, this poignant novel by Adaobi Tricia Nwaubani tells the timely story of one girl who was taken from her home in Nigeria and her harrowing fight for survival."--Provided by publisher.
Written In The Stars
Saeed, Aisha, author.
"Naila's vacation to visit relatives in Pakistan turns into a nightmare when she discovers her parents want to force her to marry a man she's never met" --Publisher description.
The Crown's Game
Skye, Evelyn, author.
Vika Andreyeva can summon the snow and turn ash into gold. Nikolai Karimov can see through walls and conjure bridges out of thin air. They are the only enchanters in Russia, and when the Ottoman Empire and the Kazakhs threaten to attack, the tsar wants a powerful enchanter by his side, and as an advisor for the prince, Pasha. He initiates the Crown's Game, a duel of magical skill, and the winner will become his Imperial Enchanter; the loser will die. For Vika and Nikolai, the game is a chance of a lifetime, but they come to realize that their growing regard for each other makes the game impossible to win. And as long-buried secrets emerge, threatening the future of the empire, it becomes increasingly clear to them that the Crown's Game is not one to lose.