Evolver logo

Ask Us Chat: 24/7 Online Reference

Search

Search:

 


442nd regimental combat team, 1944

Print
Japanese-American 442d Combat Team, Bruyeres, France.

Japanese-American 442d Combat Team, Bruyeres, France.

Getting Started

Begin your research by brainstorming keywords - the words and phrases you’ll use to search for books, articles, websites, government documents, and other resources. These may include names of people and places or historical concepts like eras and movements. A librarian can suggest “subject headings” to find the most relevant resources.

Example Keywords & Catalog Subject Headings

442nd
100th/442nd
442nd Regimental Combat Team
Nisei World War II
Nisei 442nd
Japanese 442nd
Japanese World War II

Genealogy, African American and Western History Resources

The Western History & Genealogy department focuses on Colorado and the West. These materials do not check out and are available to view on Floor 5 of the Central Library when the library is open. During the current closure, Western History and Genealogy Staff are still available to assist by phone and email and can provide scans of collection items for your project. Email history@denverlibrary.org and include "National History Day" in your subject line, or call 720-865-1821 Tues-Fri, 10 a.m.-6 p.m. or Sat, 10 a.m.-1 p.m.

The Blair Caldwell African American Research Library archives and reference collections focus on African American history and culture in Colorado and the West. Materials from the archives do not check out and are available to view on Floor 2 of the library when the library is open. During the current closure, Blair-Caldwell Library staff are still available to assist by phone and email and can provide scans of collection items for your project. Email askblaircaldwell@denverlibrary.org and include "National History Day" in your subject line, or call 720-865-2401, Tues-Fri, 10 a.m.-6 p.m. or Sat, 10 a.m.-1 p.m.

Database/Online Resources

Library databases are online collections of information, organized for research. Databases contain articles, eBooks, images, maps, primary sources and more. If you don’t have a library card, register online for immediate access to these resources.The following recommended databases are available on our Research and Teen Social Studies pages.

Explora High School

Look up topic overviews, magazine and academic journal articles, facts and primary sources for research papers, class projects or homework. Get information from trustworthy sources that you can cite in your papers. Designed with students and educators in mind.

Available in library or with library card.

Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982

Provides indexing of over three million articles from more than 550 leading magazines including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature. This resource offers researchers access to information about history, culture and seminal developments across nearly a century.

Contact Reference Services for electronic article scans: 720-865-1363.

Internet Sources

Before using information you find on the internet for assignments and research, it is important to establish that the information comes from a reliable and appropriate source. The following websites, from government, academic and nonprofit organizations, have been evaluated for authority, accuracy, content and currency.

From the Densho Encyclopedia, providing concise, accurate, and balanced information on many aspects of the Japanese American story during World War II.
The mission of Go for Broke National Education Center is to educate and inspire character and equality through the virtue and valor of our World War II American veterans of Japanese ancestry. This site provides information on the 442nd RCT, its leadership, and the battles fought in the European Theater of Operations.
From the Library of Congress. This database contains the interviews of the men that served in the 442nd Regimental Combat Team.

Contact the Reference Services department for help with your research project