Evolver logo

Denver Public Library logo

Ask Us Chat: 24/7 Online Reference

Search

Search:

 


Akbar I: The Triumph of Unification

Print
Akbar Receives the Iranian Ambassador Sayyid Beg in 1562, Victoria and Albert Museum

The life of Akbar I was chronicled by his court historian Abu al-Fazal in the Akbarnama (Book of Akbar). The manuscript was written in Persian and includes minature paintings by over 40 court artists highlighting key events like visitors to court depicted in Akbar Receives the Iranian Ambassador Sayyid Beg in 1562. The illustrations can be viewed online from the Victoria and Albert Museum and are colorful snapshots of key events in Akbar's life.

 

Getting Started

Begin your research by brainstorming keywords - the words and phrases you’ll use to search for books, articles, websites, government documents, and other resources. These may include names of people and places or historical concepts like eras and movements. A librarian can suggest “subject headings” to find the most relevant resources.

Example Keywords & Catalog Subject Headings

Abu'l-Fath Jalal-ud-din Muhammad Akbar
Akbar the Great
Akbar I
Akbar Emperor of Hindustan
Mughal Empire
Mughul Empire

Database/Online Resources

Library databases are online collections of information, organized for research. Databases contain articles, eBooks, images, maps, primary sources and more. If you don’t have a library card, register online for immediate access to these resources.The following recommended databases are available on our Research and Teen Social Studies pages.

Explora for Teens

Look up articles, facts and primary sources for research papers, class projects or homework. Get information from trustworthy sources that you can cite in your papers. Designed with students and educators in mind. 

Available in library or with library card.

Internet Sources

Before using information you find on the internet for assignments and research, it is important to establish that the information comes from a reliable and appropriate source. The following websites, from government, academic and nonprofit organizations, have been evaluated for authority, accuracy, content and currency.

The Mughal Imperial Library as acquired in 1859 includes how-to guides to the collection.
A selection of primary source material by historic periods made available by Fordham University.
The Monist, vol. 19, no. 2, 1909, pp. 161–201. JSTOR.
Digital library maintained by the University of Chicago and includes historical maps for India.

Contact the Reference Services department for help with your research project