Evolver logo

Denver Public Library logo

Ask Us Chat: 24/7 Online Reference

Search

Search:

 


Banning of DDT: Rachel Carson's Triumph

Print
Rachel Carson with binoculars

Naturalist and marine biologist Rachel Carson used careful research methods when gathering data. 
© 2007 Gale, Cengage Learning, U.S. History In Context.

Getting Started

Begin your research by brainstorming keywords - the words and phrases you’ll use to search for books, articles, websites, government documents, and other resources. These may include names of people and places or historical concepts like eras and movements. A librarian can suggest “subject headings” to find the most relevant resources.

Example Keywords & Catalog Subject Headings

Database/Online Resources

Library databases are online collections of information, organized for research. Databases contain articles, eBooks, images, maps, primary sources and more. If you don’t have a library card, register online for immediate access to these resources.The following recommended databases are available on our Research and Teen Social Studies pages.

U.S. History In Context

Provides a complete overview of our nation’s past that covers the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people from reference sources, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted web sites.

Available in library or with library card.

Explora for Teens

Look up articles, facts and primary sources for research papers, class projects or homework. Get information from trustworthy sources that you can cite in your papers. Designed with students and educators in mind. 

Available in library or with library card.

Prospector: Materials from Other Colorado and Wyoming Libraries

​​As a Denver Public Library customer, you can also borrow materials from other libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. Use Prospector to request materials that DPL does not own.

Internet Sources

Before using information you find on the internet for assignments and research, it is important to establish that the information comes from a reliable and appropriate source. The following websites, from government, academic and nonprofit organizations, have been evaluated for authority, accuracy, content and currency.

A digital copy of the "Use of Pesticides" report, prepared by the president's Science Advisory Committee in 1963, and commissioned by President John F. Kennedy to explore Rachel Carson's claims in Silent Spring.
The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) reviewed the decision to ban DDT as a pesticide in the U.S. and wrote a report for Congress in 1975. Excerpt from DDT, A Review of Scientific and Economic Aspects of the Decision To Ban Its Use as a Pesticide, prepared for the Committee on Appropriations of the U.S. House of Representatives by EPA, July 1975, EPA-540/1-75-022
Kanopy - must be Denver resident to access
This 2012 peer-reviewed virtual exhibition presents the global reception and impact of Rachel Carson’s Silent Spring as well as the book’s legacy in popular culture, music, literature, and the arts. By Mark Stoll, professor of environmental history at Texas Tech University.

Contact the Reference Services department for help with your research project