Evolver logo

Ask Us Chat: 24/7 Online Reference

Search

Search:

 


Barney Ford: Colorado Entrepreneur & Activist

Print
Barney Ford and People's Restaurant Advertisement

Barney Ford, in Blacks in Colorado Hall of Fame. Denver, CO: Denver Public Library, 2016 Denver.

"Ford's People's Restaurant, Blake Street, Denver," advertisement, unidentified newspaper, Z-8869

Getting Started

Begin your research by brainstorming keywords - the words and phrases you’ll use to search for books, articles, websites, government documents, and other resources. These may include names of people and places or historical concepts like eras and movements. A librarian can suggest “subject headings” to find the most relevant resources.

Example Keywords & Catalog Subject Headings

Barney Launcelot Ford
Denver Restaurants
Ford's Chop House
Ford Hotel
Inter-Ocean Hotel -or- Inter Ocean Hotel
People's Restaurant

Database/Online Resources

Library databases are online collections of information, organized for research. Databases contain articles, eBooks, images, maps, primary sources and more. If you don’t have a library card, register online for immediate access to these resources.The following recommended databases are available on our Research and Teen Social Studies pages.

U.S. History (Gale in Context)

Provides a complete overview of our nation’s past that covers the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people from reference sources, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted web sites.

Available in library or with library card.

Internet Sources

Before using information you find on the internet for assignments and research, it is important to establish that the information comes from a reliable and appropriate source. The following websites, from government, academic and nonprofit organizations, have been evaluated for authority, accuracy, content and currency.

The CHNC currently includes more than 1.5 million digitized pages, with more than 380 individual newspaper titles published in Colorado from 1859 up to 2017. You will find Mr. Ford is mostly listed as "Barney L. Ford" in newspaper articles.
The Office of Archaeology & Historic Preservation (OAHP) maintains site files for many historic properties. National and State Historic Register files generally include history of the property, photographs, and other research materials. Visit OAHP in the History Colorado Center to request access to the materials.
History Colorado's research library catalog contains information on the books, magazines, newspapers, broadsides, ephemera, and microfilm in their collection.
Images of archival documents, artifacts, and photographs in the History Colorado Collection.
Colorado Virtual Library article
Colorado Encyclopedia article
BlackPast.org article
Includes an image of the Barney Ford stained glass window in the Colorado Capitol building. Mr. Ford is image #57.
Barney Ford's Victorian home, built in 1882 in Breckenridge, CO is a museum. Open year-round with seasonal schedules.
The Black American West Museum & Heritage Center hold a photo of Barney Ford in their collections.
Pop Culture Classroom has a short comic about Barney Ford, with story by Alan Brooks and art by Jolyon Yates. The comic is free, but you access it by adding it to your shopping cart and then downloading from the order confirmation page.

Contact the Reference Services department for help with your research project