Evolver logo

Ask Us Chat: 24/7 Online Reference

Search

Search:

 


Brown vs. Board of Education

Print
Integrated classroom, Anacostia High School, Washington, D.C. (1957) Photo credit: Library of Congress

Students in an integrated classroom attend Anacostia High School in Washington, D.C., in 1957. Photo by Warren K. Leffler, Courtesy Library of Congress

Getting Started

Begin your research by brainstorming keywords - the words and phrases you’ll use to search for books, articles, websites, government documents, and other resources. These may include names of people and places or historical concepts like eras and movements. A librarian can suggest “subject headings” to find the most relevant resources.

Example Keywords & Catalog Subject Headings

Jim Crow
U.S. Supreme Court
Civil Rights
Racism
African American Students
Segregation

Database/Online Resources

Library databases are online collections of information, organized for research. Databases contain articles, eBooks, images, maps, primary sources and more. If you don’t have a library card, register online for immediate access to these resources.The following recommended databases are available on our Research and Teen Social Studies pages.

U.S. History (Gale in Context)

Provides a complete overview of our nation’s past that covers the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people from reference sources, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted web sites.

Available in library or with library card.

Prospector: Materials from Other Colorado and Wyoming Libraries

​​As a Denver Public Library customer, you can also borrow materials from other libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. Use Prospector to request materials that DPL does not own.

Internet Sources

Before using information you find on the internet for assignments and research, it is important to establish that the information comes from a reliable and appropriate source. The following websites, from government, academic and nonprofit organizations, have been evaluated for authority, accuracy, content and currency.

This collection at the Dwight D. Eisenhower Presidential Library, Museum & Boyhood Home includes some of the most important primary sources in the Brown vs. Board of Education case, including the original complaint filed by the Topeka, KS Board of Education.
A timeline of major events related to the landmark Supreme Court case is provided by the Smithsonian National Museum of American History.
This resource provided by the University of Kansas documents first-person narratives of individuals directly associated with the process and outcome of Brown vs. Board of Education. Link to full-text is available in the left column of the web page.
The 74, a non-profit, non-partisan news site covering education in America, provides this series of oral histories from individuals associated with the landmark Supreme Court case.

Contact the Reference Services department for help with your research project