Evolver logo

Ask Us Chat: 24/7 Online Reference

Search

Search:

 


The Jazz Singer: First Talkie Breaking the Barrier of Sound

Print
Poster for the movie The Jazz Singer (1927), featuring stars Eugenie Besserer and Al Jolson. Warner Bros.

Warner Bros. theatrical release poster for the movie The Jazz Singer (1927) featuring stars Eugenie Besserer and Al Jolson

Getting Started

Begin your research by brainstorming keywords - the words and phrases you’ll use to search for books, articles, websites, government documents, and other resources. These may include names of people and places or historical concepts like eras and movements. A librarian can suggest “subject headings” to find the most relevant resources.

Example Keywords & Catalog Subject Headings

Database/Online Resources

Library databases are online collections of information, organized for research. Databases contain articles, eBooks, images, maps, primary sources and more. If you don’t have a library card, register online for immediate access to these resources.The following recommended databases are available on our Research and Teen Social Studies pages.

U.S. History (Gale in Context)

Provides a complete overview of our nation’s past that covers the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people from reference sources, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted web sites.

Available in library or with library card.

Explora High School

Look up topic overviews, magazine and academic journal articles, facts and primary sources for research papers, class projects or homework. Get information from trustworthy sources that you can cite in your papers. Designed with students and educators in mind.

Available in library or with library card.

Prospector: Materials from Other Colorado and Wyoming Libraries

​​As a Denver Public Library customer, you can also borrow materials from other libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. Use Prospector to request materials that DPL does not own.

Internet Sources

Before using information you find on the internet for assignments and research, it is important to establish that the information comes from a reliable and appropriate source. The following websites, from government, academic and nonprofit organizations, have been evaluated for authority, accuracy, content and currency.

The American Film Institute's entry about The Jazz Singer contains a synopsis of the film, a list of the cast and crew, and source citations for further research.
This is a film website managed by Tim Dirks, who writes articles about movie summaries and analyses. This article contains a plot synopsis and background about the making of The Jazz Singer.
In this blurb Richard Corliss of TIME notes that October 6, 1927 was important to the cinematic landscape because it was the release of the first talkie: The Jazz Singer.
This contains the full text of Sid Silverman's October 12, 1927, review of The Jazz Singer for Variety Magazine.

Contact the Reference Services department for help with your research project