Evolver logo

Denver Public Library logo

Ask Us Chat: 24/7 Online Reference

Search

Search:

 


The Missouri Compromise: Unable to Hold Off the Tragedy of the Civil War

Print

Getting Started

Begin your research by brainstorming keywords - the words and phrases you’ll use to search for books, articles, websites, government documents, and other resources. These may include names of people and places or historical concepts like eras and movements. A librarian can suggest “subject headings” to find the most relevant resources.

Example Keywords & Catalog Subject Headings

Missouri Compromise 1820
James Tallmadge Jr.
Tallmadge Amendment
Henry Clay
Dred Scott Decision
Louisiana Purchase
restrictionists 1820
anti-restrictionists 1820

Genealogy, African American and Western History Resources

The Western History & Genealogy department focuses on Colorado and the West. These materials do not check out, but are available to view on Floor 5 of the Central Library.

The Blair Caldwell African American Research Library archives and reference collection contain primary and secondary source materials about African Americans who helped shape the West. These materials do not check out, but are available to view at the Blair Caldwell library. Email askblaircaldwell@denverlibrary.org or call 720-865-2401 for more information.

Database/Online Resources

Library databases are online collections of information, organized for research. Databases contain articles, eBooks, images, maps, primary sources and more. If you don’t have a library card, register online for immediate access to these resources.The following recommended databases are available on our Research and Teen Social Studies pages.

Internet Sources

Before using information you find on the internet for assignments and research, it is important to establish that the information comes from a reliable and appropriate source. The following websites, from government, academic and nonprofit organizations, have been evaluated for authority, accuracy, content and currency.

Contemporary newspaper article regarding the debate.
The format is one of Clay Jenkinson, the humanities scholar and social commentator, examining a current or historical event using both a Jeffersonian lens and a modern-day humanities lens. The gift we bring to both program formats is the ability to help people strip through the advertised message and look for the truth of the situation. The truth may be painful and self-revealing, but it is always uplifting to the spirit.
The Compromise of 1850 Heritage Society was created by the University of Massachusetts History Club. We wanted to create a source that will explore antebellum America and explain in simple terms political actions that took the country to Civil War. We combine basic facts and provide historical documents and a wide variety of media such as maps, landmark illustrations and portraits to enhance understanding and research in order to promote excellence in learning. If you have questions about the material presented here or need help with your own history project, do not hesitate e-mail us at: umasshistoryclub@hotmail.com
Original correspondence regarding the Compromise from the Library of Congress.
Original correspondence regarding the Compromise from the Library of Congress.
Database of and index to 5000+ full text, audio and video versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, other recorded media events, and a declaration or two.
The online tool for teaching with documents, from the National Archives

Contact the Reference Services department for help with your research project