Evolver logo

Denver Public Library logo

Ask Us Chat: 24/7 Online Reference

Search

Search:

 


Mormon Migration to Utah

Print
The Temple at Salt Lake City

Getting Started

Begin your research by brainstorming keywords - the words and phrases you’ll use to search for books, articles, websites, government documents, and other resources. These may include names of people and places or historical concepts like eras and movements. A librarian can suggest “subject headings” to find the most relevant resources.

Example Keywords & Catalog Subject Headings

Mormons History
Deseret
Salt Lake City

Genealogy, African American and Western History Resources

The Western History & Genealogy department focuses on Colorado and the West. These materials do not check out, but are available to view on Floor 5 of the Central Library.

The Blair Caldwell African American Research Library archives and reference collection contain primary and secondary source materials about African Americans who helped shape the West. These materials do not check out, but are available to view at the Blair Caldwell library. Email askblaircaldwell@denverlibrary.org or call 720-865-2401 for more information.

Database/Online Resources

Library databases are online collections of information, organized for research. Databases contain articles, eBooks, images, maps, primary sources and more. If you don’t have a library card, register online for immediate access to these resources.The following recommended databases are available on our Research and Teen Social Studies pages.

Internet Sources

Before using information you find on the internet for assignments and research, it is important to establish that the information comes from a reliable and appropriate source. The following websites, from government, academic and nonprofit organizations, have been evaluated for authority, accuracy, content and currency.

From Rocky Mountain PBS, which began in Denver in 1956 as Colorado's first public television station.
Digging In: The Historic Trails of Nebraska is a web site for archaeological and historical research on Nebraska's immigrant trails.
DPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions.

Contact the Reference Services department for help with your research project