Evolver logo

Ask Us Chat: 24/7 Online Reference

Search

Search:

 


Obergefell v. Hodges, 2015 (U.S. Supreme Court decision legalizing same-sex marriage)

Print
Supreme Court of the U.S. - Obergefell v Hodges

Supreme Court of the United States ends marriage discrimination - Obergefell vs Hodges

Getting Started

Begin your research by brainstorming keywords - the words and phrases you’ll use to search for books, articles, websites, government documents, and other resources. These may include names of people and places or historical concepts like eras and movements. A librarian can suggest “subject headings” to find the most relevant resources.

Example Keywords & Catalog Subject Headings

James Obergefell
Obergefell v. Hodges
U.S. Supreme Court AND Marriage Equality

Database/Online Resources

Library databases are online collections of information, organized for research. Databases contain articles, eBooks, images, maps, primary sources and more. If you don’t have a library card, register online for immediate access to these resources.The following recommended databases are available on our Research and Teen Social Studies pages.

Explora High School

Look up topic overviews, magazine and academic journal articles, facts and primary sources for research papers, class projects or homework. Get information from trustworthy sources that you can cite in your papers. Designed with students and educators in mind.

Available in library or with library card.

Newspaper Source Plus

Cover-to-cover full-text for 25 national and international newspapers plus selective full-text for more than 335 regional U.S. newspapers. Also full-text television and radio news transcripts.

Available in library or with library card.

U.S. History (Gale in Context)

Provides a complete overview of our nation’s past that covers the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people from reference sources, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted web sites.

Available in library or with library card.

Internet Sources

Before using information you find on the internet for assignments and research, it is important to establish that the information comes from a reliable and appropriate source. The following websites, from government, academic and nonprofit organizations, have been evaluated for authority, accuracy, content and currency.

James Obergefell discussed the role he played as a plaintiff in helping make legal history in the 2015 marriage equality decision Obergefell v. Hodges. Professor Steve Sanders moderated the discussion. Sponsored by the Maurer School of Law, the American Constitution Society, Union Board, and the IU GLBT Alumni Association.
Copy of the opinion published by the Supreme Court of the United States.
Jim Obergefell and Debbie Cenziper discussed their new book, "Love Wins." Obergefell was the named plaintiff in Obergefell v. Hodges, the 2015 landmark marriage equality ruling that the Supreme Court issued just a year prior.

Contact the Reference Services department for help with your research project