Evolver logo

Denver Public Library logo

Ask Us Chat: 24/7 Online Reference

Search

Search:

 


The Partition of India: Triumph of Independence, Tragedy of Division

Print
Partition of India 1947

Map showing the partition of India in 1947

Getting Started

Begin your research by brainstorming keywords - the words and phrases you’ll use to search for books, articles, websites, government documents, and other resources. These may include names of people and places or historical concepts like eras and movements. A librarian can suggest “subject headings” to find the most relevant resources.

Example Keywords & Catalog Subject Headings

India AND Partition
India AND Pakistan AND 1947

Database/Online Resources

Library databases are online collections of information, organized for research. Databases contain articles, eBooks, images, maps, primary sources and more. If you don’t have a library card, register online for immediate access to these resources.The following recommended databases are available on our Research and Teen Social Studies pages.

Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982

Provides indexing of over three million articles from more than 550 leading magazines including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature. This resource offers researchers access to information about history, culture and seminal developments across nearly a century.

Contact Reference Services for electronic article scans: 720-865-1363.

Internet Sources

Before using information you find on the internet for assignments and research, it is important to establish that the information comes from a reliable and appropriate source. The following websites, from government, academic and nonprofit organizations, have been evaluated for authority, accuracy, content and currency.

Published by the History Departments at The Ohio State University and Miami University, this resource looks back at the victory of independence but also the tragedies of the partition of India.
Research guide from the BBC that includes an introduction to the topic, what happened, why it happened, what the impact was, what it was like, and what the current situation is.
A website hosted by Al Jazeera News that includes news, perspective, documentary video, interactive photo albums, and an interactive map of how the partition borders were drawn.

Contact the Reference Services department for help with your research project